Year 10

Year 10 Learning Outline

Year 10 students have entered the second phase of Stage 5 and study the following mandatory subjects defined by the New South Wales Education Standards Authority (NESA): English, Mathematics, Science, History, Geography and Personal Development/Heath/ Physical Education.

In addition to these mandatory subjects, students at Gymea Technology High School also undertake study in three Electives. Electives offered include: Child Studies, Commerce, Creative Writing, Dance, Design & Technology, Drama, Engineering in Technology, Food Technology, Forensic Archaeology, French, Industrial Technology – Multimedia, Information & Software Technology, Music, Photography & Digital Media, Physical Activity & Sport Studies, Visual Arts.

Core subjects are grouped either as academically gifted or as mixed ability classes. Class composition may very from subject to subject. Students are grouped in Electives as mixed ability classes except for the Selective Technology class, who may undertake study in an accelerated HSC course.

The Assessment Policy is available for download and contains a summary of all formal assessment undertaken by students during Year 10. Students work towards the ‘Record of School Achievement’ which requires satisfactory academic performance, application and attendance in all subjects studied.

Parents and Students are encouraged to regularly check this page for relevant posts. Teachers will increasingly add task notifications that provide details and requirements for assessments to this page.

Download: 2022 Year 10 Assessment Guidelines

inspire_iconCreated with Sketch.


Innovative learning spaces that empower students to work collaboratively, creatively and critically.

learn_iconCreated with Sketch.


Integrated technology, developing all students as confident learners through an engaging curriculum.

succeed_iconCreated with Sketch.


Engaging all students in positive growth and individualised success in all areas of school life.